You know you’re getting old when…

I was talking to a coworker the other day about a networking event happening in Boston. 

It’s a really worthwhile event.  (I’m nodding.) The crowd is great.  (I’m nodding.) All really smart and they represent some of the most successful companies in the area.  (I’m nodding.)  And to keep it fresh they limit attendance to people under 35 years old.  You should come with me.  (I’m flattered and offended at the same time.)

Now, I get that I’m no Spring chicken.  When I got started working in PR we were all really excited about being able to fax releases to the press.  So what if there were only about 3 reporters who could fax us back?  We were excited nonetheless.  But come on.  What’s the concern?  That we’ll jam up the room with our walkers?  That crows feet and stray greys are contagious?  Are they afraid we’ll call their parents and let them know they’re out past 9 and not wearing their retainers?  I don’t get it.  How does having an age cut-off for an event make it better?

When I went back to the office to tell people about this travesty of justice, I had a hard time finding someone who could relate.  Then it dawned on me, in the world of PR, I am old.  Old-er… More mature…  I’m not sure exactly when it happened – when I crossed the line.  Maybe it was the time a few years back when I had to have someone explain what a “hook up” was.  Regardless.  With a handful of exceptions, I have about 10 years on most of the people at SHIFT.  And there are some where the age difference is closer to 15.  I have some colleagues and a few people on my team who were still in single digits when I got into this industry.   Good grief. 

Now, I don’t mean for this post to be one of those… “You know back in my day we had to walk to COMDEX.  Up hill.  Both ways.”  However, the truth is PR was a different world when I jumped into it and if you really think about it, it wasn’t even that long ago.  But, even though a lot has changed, I know I still got it.  When I’m lucid I still come up with some pretty good ideas. 

I’m not taking anything away from my younger coworkers – the new breed.  They’re sharp.  They have perspectives and a crazy creative ability that makes for some sick PR.  But still, there’s something to be said about the experience you can only get from having a bunch of years on the planet.

9 thoughts on “You know you’re getting old when…

  1. I am working as a R.N. now for 18yrs, and my co-workers are about 5 yrs older than that! Its funny, how 24 doen’t really seem so long ago, until these co-works start telling me how old their parents are, or better yet, the dates they were born…like my crows feet were’t enough to make me feel old!

  2. Here is my FAVORITE SONG, by who else but the oldest living singer in the world, Willie Nelson, it’s called “A couple more years”
    I’ve got a couple more years on you, babe, and that’s all.
    I’ve had more chances to fly and more places to fall.
    And it ain’t that I’m wiser, it’s only that I’ve spent,
    More time with my back to the wall.
    And I’ve picked up a couple more years on you, babe, that’s all.

    I’ve walked a couple more roads than you, babe, that’s all.
    And I’m tired of runnin’ while you’re only learnin’ to crawl.
    And you’re headin’ somewhere, but I’ve been to somewhere,
    And found it was nowhere at all.
    And I’ve picked up a couple more years on you. babe, that’s all.

  3. Loving your blog and I can relate! I had 15 years on everyone at B&O. I tried to embrace my role as sage advisor. They were sharp, but I think there is something to be said for paying your dues with faxing releases and actually reading hard copies of magazines for insight. Make you more resourceful.

  4. Monica, your comments are correct though makes me wonder if we said the same things when we started in PR. Ah, but before faxes we had to request ed cals be sent via the post office…

  5. I am trying to break in at 29 years old. I guess that it will catch up with me even quicker than you guys. I find myself feeling older fast these days.

    Case in point: I went to a high school graduation and one of the speakers said, “remember when we were in the fourth grade when 9/11 happened.” What!?! 4th grade and your graduating high school? That can’t be right. They were just learning long division and I was in college and now they are going to college?

Leave a Reply

